Ridley Scott 2016

Reese Witherspoon 2015

Matthew McConaughey 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer 2013
Ben Stiller 2012
Robert Downey, Jr. 2011
Matt Damon 2010
Samuel L. Jackson 2008
Julia Roberts 2007
George Clooney 2006
Al Pacino 2005
Steve Martin 2004
Nicole Kidman 2003
Denzel Washington 2002
Nicolas Cage 2001
Bruce Willis 2000
Jodie Foster 1999
Arnold Schwarzenegger 1998
John Travolta 1997
Tom Cruise 1996
Mel Gibson 1995
Rob Reiner 1994
Michael Douglas 1993
Sean Connery 1992
Martin Scorsese 1991
Ron Howard 1990
Steven Spielberg 1989
Robin Williams 1988
Bette Midler 1987
Eddie Murphy 1986

Tickets start at $600. Call 323.314.7000 to purchase.

The American Cinematheque will tweet & instagram from the event using their @SidGrauman account and the hashtag #amcinaward2016 & #acaward2016

Keep up to date on Ridley Scott Award Show news on Facebook!


The Presentation of the 30th Annual
American Cinematheque Award to

Ridley Scott
2016 Honoree

photo: Scott Council/Contour for Getty Images.


Sue Kroll
Sid Grauman Award Winner

photo: Warner Bros.

Presented Friday, October 14, 2016
at The Beverly Hilton

Award Presentation
Black Tie Preferred

The Beverly Hilton
9876 Wilshire Boulevard
Beverly Hills, CA 90210

Tickets start at $600. For more information call Mann Productions: 323.314.7000.

If you are unable to attend the event, but would like to make a donation of any amount to the American Cinematheque, click here.

The American Cinematheque Award is presented annually to an extraordinary artist currently making a significant contribution to the art of the Moving Picture. This is our 30th Award Presentation. Funds raised support the American Cinematheque's public programs at the Aero & Egyptian Theatres

Show Participants:


Taped Messages:


Benefit Co-Chairs:

Ben Affleck, Sean Bailey, Bruce Berman, Skip Brittenham, Jerry Bruckheimer, Bradley Cooper, Jules Daly, Matt Damon, Donald De Line, Michael Douglas, Toby Emmerich, Marc Evans, George Freeman, Jim Gianopulos, Brian Grazer, Brad Grey, Simon Halls, Alan Horn, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Simon Kinberg, Donna Langley, Sherry Lansing, Bryan Lourd, Ron Meyer, Rick Nicita, David Nochimson, Amy Pascal, Brett Ratner, James G. Robinson, Charles Roven, Ted Sarandos, Michael Schaefer, Giannina Scott, Jake Scott, Jordan Scott, Luke Scott, Jeff Shell, Greg Silverman, Stacey Snider, Kevin Tsujihara, Paula Wagner, Pauletta & Denzel Washington, Emma Watts,
Patrick Whitesell, David Wirtschafter and David W. Zucker.


Title Sponsor


Platinum Sponsors

Encore Event Technologies, Hill Valley, Hollywood Foreign Press Association

Gold Sponsors

Alcantara, Comcast NBCUniversal, Creative Artists Agency, The Hollywood Reporter, Morgan Creek Productions, Paramount Pictures, Twentieth Century Fox, Variety, The Walt Disney Studios, Warner Bros. Entertainment

Silver Sponsors

Atlas Entertainment/Charles V. Roven Family Foundation/ Thomas Spiegel Family Foundation, AV Squad, Skip Brittenham/ Ziffren Brittenham LLP, Linda & Jerry Bruckheimer, Chernin Entertainment, DreamWorks Animation, Fandango, IMAX, Netflix, RSA Films/Scott Free, Maureen Sherry & Steve Klinsky, Steven Spielberg, WME

Silver Patrons

Domaine Clarence Dillon, LIONSGATE, George Lucas Family Foundation


Alex Peyton Events & Catering, Buddha Jones, Concept Arts, Grace Ford Salvatori Foundation, Kempinsky Law Ltd., Simon Kinberg, Mob Scene, Motive, Rick Nicita, PwC, Alena Simone & Alex Bouzari, Deborah & Zack Snyder, Susan Tolson, Transit, Paula Wagner and WORKS ADV.


Proceeds from this annual tribute fund the year-round community film programs of the American Cinematheque, the non-profit viewer-supported arts organization that preserves the historic 1922 Egyptian Theatre on Hollywood Boulevard and the 1940 Aero Theatre on Montana Avenue in Santa Monica.

The American Cinematheque’s public programming celebrates the art of the moving picture in all of its forms -- from the classics, to American independents, the latest international productions, documentaries, shorts, animation, and experimental projects. 

Series are highlighted by screenings of rare works, special prints and audience discussions with filmmakers. 

The Cinematheque is dedicated to preserving the movie-going experience -- presenting films on the big screen, as they were meant to be seen and heard.

For Media Only

How to Obtain Press Credentials

Press Release 1: Ridley Scott 30th Annual American Cinematheque Award Recipient / June 7, 2016

Press Release 2: Sue Kroll 2016 Sid Grauman Award Recipient

Press Release 3: Presenters for 2016 American Cinematheque Tribute Announced / Sept. 20, 2016

Press Release 4: More Presenters Announced for Ridley Scott American Cinematheque Tribute / Oct. 6, 2016

Press Release 5: Backstage Creations VIP Gift Bag created for the 2016 American Cinematheque Award Show & Charity Buzz Auction / Oct. 13, 2016

Media Documents will be placed in a folder closer to the event.

Tip Sheet

Media Alert

Face Sheet Part 1- Photos of Talent on Red Carpet

Face Sheet Part 2 - Photos of Participants in the Award Show

Biographies of Ridley Scott & Sue Kroll

Final Press Release

Directions for downloading clips of the award show.

VIP Gift Bag Auction on - Auction #1: Oct. 25 - Nov. 8, 2016 & Auction #2 Nov. 9 - Nov. 22, 2016

Clip Information:

Clips will be available for download from by 6AM on Sunday, October 16, 2016 at the following link (no Dropbox account required). Files will be Apple ProRes QuickTime, 1920 x 1080i 29.97.

Download each video individually (and not as a zip file, unless you have a Dropbox account with a large capacity). See PDF w/directions in the Dropbox folder for further instruction.

Sydney Pollack Award* (given in select years)

The First Annual Sydney Pollack Award 2009

2nd Annual Sydney Pollack Award 2010

Sydney Pollack Award Presentation 2012

Sample Photos from 2008

Photos on this page may not be reproduced under any circumstances.

The American Cinematheque will tweet & instagram from the event using their @SidGrauman account and the hashtag #amcinaward2016

Keep up to date on Ridley Scott Award Show news onFacebook!