Hollywood – Lauren Bacall (Actor, BIRTH), Robert Benton (director, HUMAN STAIN, BILLY BATHGATE) Adrien Brody (presenting the Award to Nicole) Stockard Channing (actor, PRACTICAL MAGIC); Stephen Daldry (director, THE HOURS) Matt Dillon (actor, TO DIE FOR); Danny Huston (actor, BIRTH); Allison Janney (Actor, THE HOURS) Michael Keaton (actor, MY LIFE); Wayne Knight (actor, TO DIE FOR); Baz Luhrmann (director, MOULIN ROUGE), Chris O’Donnell (actor, BATMAN FOREVER); Maxwell (musical entertainment) Anthony Minghella (writer/director, COLD MOUNTAIN) Sydney Pollack (producer, COLD MOUNTAIN Natalie Portman (actor, COLD MOUNTAIN); Chl÷e Sevigny (actor, DOGVILLE); Harvey Weinstein (producer, HUMAN STAIN, THE OTHERS); and longtime friend, Naomi Watts (actor, FLIRTING) will appear in person to pay tribute to Nicole Kidman, recipient of the 18th annual American Cinematheque Award.

Russell Crowe, Dame Edna, Anthony Hopkins, Producer George Miller, Meryl Streep are scheduled to send a taped message that will be shown during the event. The information in parentheses indicates projects each of these individuals worked on with Nicole Kidman. The presentation and gala benefit takes place Friday, November 14th at the Beverly Hilton Hotel’s International Ballroom in Beverly Hills.

The tribute will air on AMC on December 1, 2003.

"The American Cinematheque is extremely pleased to honor Nicole Kidman at this year’s celebration," said Rick Nicita. "Her Academy Award this year reflects just one of a series of daring and demanding performances. Her unique ability to balance art house independents with the commercial mainstream has made her one of the most sought-after actresses in movies today. While she is at the peak of her talents so far, her future will contain even more bold and acclaimed work in the highest-quality films of all genres. We are looking forward to a wonderful evening honoring this extraordinary artist."

Kidman was the unanimous choice of the Cinematheque Board of Directors selection committee, which since 1986, has annually honored an extraordinary artist (actor, director or writer) in the entertainment industry, who is fully engaged in his or her work and is committed to making a significant contribution to the art of the motion picture.

The award show is executive produced by Paul Flattery and Barbara Smith for AMC. B-roll of the show will be made available after the event. Footage will also be available from a satellite feed. Exact coordinates are on the media alert on our website.

Co-chairs of the event include: Nicola Bulgari, Dick Cook, Jonathan Dolgen, Jim Gianopulos, Alan Horn, Kevin Huvane, Arie L. Kopelman, Sherry Lansing, Chris McGurk, Ron Meyer, Anthony Minghella, Lachlan Murdoch, Rupert Murdoch, Rick Nicita, Mark Ordesky, Amy Pascal, Sydney Pollack, Miuccia Prada,

Tom Rosenberg, Tom Rothman, Scott Rudin, Robert Shaye, Stacey Snider, Steven Spielberg, Harvey Weinstein and Anna Wintour.

Eddie Murphy received the first American Cinematheque Award in 1986. Previous honorees are as follows: Bette Midler (1987); Robin Williams (1988); Steven Spielberg (1989); Ron Howard (1990); Martin Scorsese (1991); Sean Connery (1992); Michael Douglas (1993); Rob Reiner (1994); Mel Gibson (1995); Tom Cruise (1996); John Travolta (1997); Arnold Schwarzenegger (1998); Jodie Foster (1999); Bruce Willis (2000); Nicolas Cage (2001); and Denzel Washington (2002).

Twelve hundred entertainment industry notables are expected to attend the Tribute. This annual event is the American Cinematheque’s most important benefit, providing funds for the non-profit film exhibition organization’s programs throughout the year and operation of the historic landmark Egyptian Theatre on Hollywood Boulevard.

Tickets to the Cinematheque Tribute, an elegant black-tie dinner followed by a multi-media award show start at $500. Call Event Producer Corrinne Mann for further information at 323.314.7000. Please note that this event was formerly known as the Moving Picture Ball.

Established in 1981, the American Cinematheque is a non-profit viewer-supported film exhibition and cultural organization dedicated to the celebration of the Moving Picture in all of its forms. At the Egyptian Theatre, the Cinematheque presents daily film and video programming which ranges from the classics of American and international cinema to new independent films and digital work. Exhibition of rare works, special and rare prints, etc., combined with fascinating post-screening discussions with the filmmakers who created the work, are a Cinematheque tradition that keep audiences coming back for once-in-a-lifetime cinema experiences. The American Cinematheque renovated and reopened (on December 4, 1998) the historic 1922 Hollywood Egyptian Theatre. This includes a state-of-the-art 616-seat theatre housed within Sid Grauman’s first grand movie palace on Hollywood Boulevard. The exotic courtyard is fully restored to its 1922 grandeur. The Egyptian was the home of the very first Hollywood movie premiere in 1922. In the Fall of 2003 the American Cinematheque will expand its programming to the Aero Theatre in Santa Monica.

Hosts and Presenters will receive a luxurious gift basket from Unilever Cosmetics International featuring gift collections from Vera Wang fragrance, the fragrance of joy, passion and commitment and Eternity for Men by Calvin Klein, as a thank you for their participation in the Awards Show. Other goodies include Vera Wang crystal champagne flutes and a caviar dish and vodka chiller from Calvin Klein Home. Gift baskets produced exclusively for American Cinematheque by On 3 Productions.

Credentials are by pre-arrangement only. Credentials are closed.

A photo of Nicole Kidman (to run with an announcement story) is available upon request from Margot Gerber.



Catherine Olim PMK-HBH (Representing Nicole Kidman) 310-289-6200

Margot Gerber American Cinematheque Publicist/ 323.461.2020 ext. 115

Fenot Tekle AMC FTEKLE



# # #