Award Show

The Annual American Cinematheque Awards

On Thursday November 17, 2022 the American Cinematheque Board of Directors presented the 36th American Cinematheque Award to Ryan Reynolds in a ceremony at The Beverly Hilton. 

Photo credit: Guy Aroch

About the Event

Since 1986, the American Cinematheque Award is presented annually to an extraordinary artist currently making a significant contribution to the art of the Moving Picture. The American Cinematheque’s mission is to celebrate the experience of cinema as a moving art form; we create spaces where both the public and members of the film industry come together as a community with the common language and love of film.

Established in 1984, the American Cinematheque is a member-supported 501(c)(3) non-profit cultural arts organization dedicated to building an engaged film community through immersive film curation, conversation, and presentation.  Since it first began showing films in theatres in 1985, the American Cinematheque has provided a wide range of film programming, with both new and repertory cinema, hosting screenings, panels and special events with thousands of filmmakers. The AC showcases hundreds of films a year; it connects the filmmaker to the audience and film history to its future. Presenting in 35mm, 70mm, rare nitrate, and state-of-the-art-digital.


Ryan Reynolds

Ryan Reynolds is a Canadian actor, producer, screenwriter and entrepreneur. He has been nominated for Golden Globe and Grammy awards for his work on the billion-dollar franchise Deadpool. His most recent film The Adam Project which he also produced is currently Netflix’s fourth most-viewed English-language movie of all time. Reynolds is the only actor with 3 films on Netflix’s all-time top 10 list (Red Notice, The Adam Project, Six Underground).

After beginning his acting career in 1991, Ryan rose to prominence in comedy series Two Guys, A Girl and a Pizza Place and dozens of films including The Proposal, Definitely, Maybe, Mississippi Grind and Free Guy.

Reynolds is also an award-winning marketer, creating breakthrough campaigns for Deadpool as well Aviation Gin, Mint Mobile and the Match Group. He is an owner of Aviation Gin, Mint Mobile, Wrexham Football Club, Chief Creative Officer of MNTN and a co-founder of Maximum Effort Productions. He has been recognized as one of the most creative people in business by Fast Company, Wall Street Journal and AdWeek.

Prior Honorees

Scarlett Johansson 2021

Spike Lee 2020

Charlize Theron 2019

Bradley Cooper 2018

Amy Adams 2017

Ridley Scott 2016

Reese Witherspoon 2015

Matthew McConaughey 2014

Jerry Bruckheimer 2013

Ben Stiller 2012

Robert Downey Jr. 2011

Matt Damon 2010

Samuel L. Jackson 2008

Julia Roberts 2007

George Clooney 2006

Al Pacino 2005

Steve Martin 2004

Nicole Kidman 2003

Denzel Washington 2002

Nicolas Cage 2001

Bruce Willis 2000

Jodie Foster 1999

Arnold Schwarzenegger 1998

John Travolta 1997

Tom Cruise 1996

Mel Gibson 1995

Rob Reiner 1994

Michael Douglas 1993

Sean Connery 1992

Martin Scorsese 1991

Ron Howard 1990

Steven Spielberg 1989

Robin Williams 1988

Bette Midler 1987

Eddie Murphy 1986


Jason Blum and Blumhouse

As a cultural arts organization dedicated to the presentation of film the American Cinematheque (AC) believes that cinema is a communal experience with the power to entertain, enlighten, and inspire.  In 2021, to celebrate our mission, the Board of Directors established the “Power of Cinema Award” to be given to an individual or organization whose actions through storytelling have advanced the significance of social relevance of films in today’s modern culture.

The AC is dedicated to providing audiences throughout Los Angeles and the world through our virtual platform with a diverse range of programming driven by our mission. The AC Power of Cinema Award will bring additional focus to our work and serve to acknowledge the contributions of those who share our commitment to the power of cinema.

The American Cinematheque Honors Jason Blum and Blumhouse with the Power of Cinema Award Presented by Hill Valley. Jason Blum accepted the Power of Cinema Award on behalf of the company. Jason Blum, founder and CEO of Blumhouse, is a three-time Academy Award-nominated, two-time Primetime Emmy Award-winning and a three-time Peabody Award-winning producer. Through Blumhouse, Blum has produced over 150 movies and television series. Blumhouse is a multimedia company regarded as the driving force in the horror renaissance.

Photo credit: Eric Charbonneau for Focus Features

Prior Power of Cinema Honoree

Participant 2021


American Cinematheque 2022 Co-Chairs

Amanda Anka & Jason Bateman

Steve Asbell

Alan Bergman

Emily Blunt

Daria Cercek

Andrew Chrisomalis

Michael De Luca

George Dewey

Toby Emmerich

Kevin Feige

Will Ferrell

Gal Gadot

Jennifer Garner

David Glickman

Michael Ireland

Hugh Jackman

Simon Kinberg

John Krasinski

Sue Kroll

Mark E. Landesman

Donna Langley

Shawn Levy

Doug Lucterhand

Michelle Maddalena

Éric Nebot

Rick Nicita

Brian Robbins

Tom Rothman

Charles Roven

Mark Ruffalo

Ted Sarandos

Octavia Spencer

Lindsey Strasberg

Scott Stuber

Courtenay Valenti

Paula Wagner

David Weber

Regina & Gregory

Patrick Whitesell

David Zaslav

Warren Zavala


Diamond Sponsor



Emerald Sponsor

Morgan Creek Productions


Platinum Sponsors

Amazon Studios

Atomic Monster

Aviation American Gin

Champagne Fleur de Miraval

Disney Studios Content

Hill Valley

MNTN/ Maximum Effort


Paramount Pictures

Warner Bros. Discovery


Gold Sponsors

Comcast NBCUniversal

Dolby Laboratories

The Hollywood Reporter


Silver Sponsors

Atlas Entertainment

Château Malartic-Lagravière

Entertainment One

Google TV

The IAC Foundation

Mint Mobile

ML Management Associates, Inc./

Sloane, Offer, Weber and Dern, LLP

Thomas Spiegel Family Foundation

Topic Studios





Silver Patrons

Simon Kinberg

Signature Analytics

Sony Pictures Entertainment

Gregory Annenberg Weingarten /

GRoW @ Annenberg


Apple Original Films

Goodman Genow Schenkman Smelkinson & Christopher, LLP

Kempinsky Law Ltd.

Love & Squalor Pictures

Rick Nicita



Heather & James Rosenfield /

Jackie & John Bucksbaum

Screen Engine/ASI


Paula Wagner


For sponsorship and tickets, please contact: Mann Productions at 424.832.7434, [email protected]

Sid Grauman Award Honorees

The Sid Grauman Award was presented from 2015 to 2019 to honor individuals who have made a significant contribution to the Hollywood film industry in the continuing advancement of theatrical exhibition. Although the Award was retired following the 2019 event, the AC continues to celebrate their many professional contributions.

Adam Aron on behalf of AMC Theatres 2019
Doug Darrow on behalf of Dolby Laboratories 2018
Richard Gelfond and Greg Foster on behalf of IMAX 2017
Sue Kroll 2016
Jeffrey Katzenberg 2015