Award Show – Helen Mirren

The Annual American Cinematheque Awards

The American Cinematheque Board of Directors presented the 37th American Cinematheque Award to Helen Mirren on Thursday, February 15, 2024 at a ceremony at The Beverly Hilton.


The American Cinematheque Honors Kevin Goetz & Screen Engine with the Power of Cinema Award Presented by Hill Valley.


Helen Mirren

Helen Mirren is one of the best known and respected actresses with an international career that spans stage, screen, and television over five decades. Renowned for her performance in THE QUEEN for which she won an Academy Award, she also won a Tony Award and Olivier Award for her portrayal as Queen Elizabeth II on stage; she is the only actress to have portrayed both Queen Elizabeth I and Elizabeth II on screen. Mirren played the tough talking DCI Jane Tennison in PRIME SUSPECT and has had a distinguished theatre career including working with the RSC and the National Theatre. She has received numerous awards throughout her career including the prestigious BAFTA Fellowship, the Chaplin Award from the Film Society at Lincoln Center, and the SAG Life Achievement Award. More recently on television, she appeared in the Paramount+ series 1923, and she will next appear in the films BARBIE and GOLDA. Mirren is a global L’Oréal ambassador, representing the brand on a worldwide basis. She was appointed Dame of the British Empire in 2003.


Kevin Goetz & Screen Engine

As a cultural arts organization dedicated to the presentation of film the American Cinematheque (AC) believes that cinema is a communal experience with the power to entertain, enlighten, and inspire. In 2021, to celebrate our mission, the Board of Directors established the “Power of Cinema Award” to be given to an individual or organization whose actions through storytelling have advanced the significance of social relevance of films in today’s modern culture.

The AC is dedicated to providing audiences throughout Los Angeles and the world through our virtual platform with a diverse range of programming driven by our mission. The AC Power of Cinema Award will bring additional focus to our work and serve to acknowledge the contributions of those who share our commitment to the power of cinema.

The American Cinematheque Honors Kevin Goetz & Screen Engine with the Power of Cinema Award Presented by Hill Valley. Kevin Goetz, a well-known personality within the entertainment industry, is currently a leading expert in the field of motion picture marketing and tech-enabled research. He is often the “go-to” person when filmmakers and studios need insights into how to fix or market their pictures. With decades of experience, Mr. Goetz has worked alongside all of the major film studio chiefs, network and streaming platform executives and production company decision-makers. Today, he is the founder and CEO of Screen Engine, one of the few firms in the world that conducts specialized research on Hollywood’s movies and television content.

About the Event

Since 1986, the American Cinematheque Award is presented annually to an extraordinary artist currently making a significant contribution to the art of the Moving Picture. The American Cinematheque’s mission is to celebrate the experience of cinema as a moving art form; we create spaces where both the public and members of the film industry come together as a community with the common language and love of film.

Established in 1984, the American Cinematheque is a member-supported 501(c)(3) non-profit cultural arts organization dedicated to building an engaged film community through immersive film curation, conversation, and presentation.  Since it first began showing films in theatres in 1985, the American Cinematheque has provided a wide range of film programming, with both new and repertory cinema, hosting screenings, panels and special events with thousands of filmmakers. The AC showcases 1,500 films a year; it connects the filmmaker to the audience and film history to its future. Presenting in 35mm, 70mm, rare nitrate, and state-of-the-art-digital.

For Press inquires please contact Slate PR.

Prior AC Awards Honorees

Ryan Reynolds (2022)

Scarlett Johansson (2021)

Spike Lee (2020)

Charlize Theron (2019)

Bradley Cooper (2018)

Amy Adams (2017)

Ridley Scott (2016)

Reese Witherspoon (2015)

Matthew McConaughey (2014)

Jerry Bruckheimer (2013)

Ben Stiller (2012)

Robert Downey Jr. (2011)

Matt Damon (2010)

Samuel L. Jackson (2008)

Julia Roberts (2007)

George Clooney (2006)

Al Pacino (2005)

Steve Martin (2004)

Nicole Kidman (2003)

Denzel Washington (2002)

Nicolas Cage (2001)

Bruce Willis (2000)

Jodie Foster (1999)

Arnold Schwarzenegger (1998)

John Travolta (1997)

Tom Cruise (1996)

Mel Gibson (1995)

Rob Reiner (1994)

Michael Douglas (1993)

Sean Connery (1992)

Martin Scorsese (1991)

Ron Howard (1990)

Steven Spielberg (1989)

Robin Williams (1988)

Bette Midler (1987)

Eddie Murphy (1986)

Prior Power of Cinema Honorees

Jason Blum and Blumhouse (2022)

Participant (2021)



American Cinematheque 2023 Co-Chairs


Alan Bergman

Jerry Bruckheimer

Michael De Luca

Greta Gerwig

Brian Grazer

David Heyman

Ron Howard

Andrew Karpen

Sue Kroll

Donna Langley

Todd Lieberman

Michelle Maddalena

Chris Meledandri

Neal H. Moritz

Guy Nattiv

Éric Nebot

Rick Nicita

Brian Robbins

Tom Rothman

Charles Roven

Peter Safran

Fred Specktor

Scott Stuber

Paula Wagner

Regina & Gregory Annenberg Weingarten

David Zaslav


Platinum Sponsors

Champagne Fleur de Miraval

Hill Valley

Screen Engine

Warner Bros. Discovery

Gold Sponsors

Comcast NBCUniversal

The Hollywood Reporter

MFour Mobile Research

Morgan Creek Productions

Paramount Pictures


The Walt Disney Studios

Silver Sponsors

Amazon & MGM Studios

Atlas Entertainment

Bleecker Street and ShivHans Pictures

Château Malartic-Lagravière

Creative Artists Agency

Dolby Laboratories

Entertainment One


L’Oréal Paris


Thomas Spiegel Family Foundation

Gregory Annenberg Weingarten
/ GRoW @ Annenberg

Silver Patrons

Mark Amin/Sobini Films


Rick Nicita / Paula Wagner

Sony Pictures Entertainment


Alcon Entertainment

Jerry Bruckheimer Films and Television

Entertainment Works

Kempinsky Law Ltd.


Heather & James Rosenfield
/ Jackie & John Bucksbaum

The Stanley and Joyce Black
Family Foundation

Tucker Tooley Entertainment

Damon Wolf

Media Partners



For sponsorship and tickets, please contact: Mann Productions at 424.832.7434, [email protected]

Sid Grauman Award Honorees

The Sid Grauman Award was presented from 2015 to 2019 to honor individuals who have made a significant contribution to the Hollywood film industry in the continuing advancement of theatrical exhibition. Although the Award was retired following the 2019 event, the AC continues to celebrate their many professional contributions.

Adam Aron on behalf of AMC Theatres (2019)
Doug Darrow on behalf of Dolby Laboratories (2018)
Richard Gelfond and Greg Foster on behalf of IMAX (2017)
Sue Kroll (2016)
Jeffrey Katzenberg (2015)