Award Show

The Annual American Cinematheque Award Show

On November 18th, 2021, the American Cinematheque Board of Directors presented the 35th American Cinematheque Award to Scarlett Johansson in a ceremony at The Beverly Hilton. 

Photo credit: Quentin Jones

About the Event

Since 1986, the American Cinematheque Award is presented annually to an extraordinary artist currently making a significant contribution to the art of the Moving Picture. The American Cinematheque’s mission is to celebrate the experience of cinema as a moving art form; we create spaces where both the public and members of the film industry come together as a community with the common language and love of film.

Established in 1984, the American Cinematheque is a member-supported 501(c)(3) non-profit cultural arts organization dedicated to building an engaged film community through immersive film curation, conversation, and presentation.  Since it first began showing films in theatres in 1985, the American Cinematheque has provided a wide range of film programming, with both new and repertory cinema, hosting screenings, panels and special events with thousands of filmmakers. The AC showcases hundreds of films a year; it connects the filmmaker to the audience and film history to its future. Presenting in 35mm, 70mm, rare nitrate, and state-of-the-art-digital.


Scarlett Johansson

Tony and BAFTA winner and Oscar nominee SCARLETT JOHANSSON was most recently seen in the final installment of the Avengers film series, Avengers: Endgame, reprising her role as ‘Natasha Romanoff / Black Widow,’ in Netflix’s Marriage Story, directed by Noah Baumbach, and in Taika Waititi’s JoJo Rabbit. Other recent roles include Avengers: Infinity War, Lucy, Under the Skin, Ghost in the Shell, Isle of Dogs and Her, which earned her a Best Actress award at the Rome Film Festival. She will be reprising her role as ‘Natasha Romanoff’ in the highly anticipated stand alone film Black Widow in theaters July 9th, 2021.

Johansson received rave reviews as ‘Nicole Barber’ in Marriage Story and was nominated for an Oscar, Screen Actors Guild Award, and a BAFTA Award for her role. She also received nominations for an Oscar, Screen Actors Guild Award and a BAFTA Award for her supporting role in Jojo Rabbit. Scarlett received the Upstream Prize for Best Actress in the Controcorrente section at the Venice Film Festival for her starring role opposite Bill Murray in Lost in Translation, the critically acclaimed second film by director Sofia Coppola. She won a Tony for her Broadway debut in the Arthur Miller play “A View from a Bridge” opposite Liev Schreiber. She wrapped her second run on Broadway as ‘Maggie’ in “Cat on a Hot Tin Roof” in 2013.

At the age of 12, Johansson attained worldwide recognition for her performance as Grace Maclean, the teen traumatized by a riding accident in Robert Redford’s The Horse Whisperer. She went on to star in Terry Zwigoff’s Ghost World, garnering a “Best Supporting Actress” award from the Toronto Film Critics Circle. Her breakthrough role came at the age of 10 in the critically-praised Manny & Lo, which earned her an Independent Spirit Award nomination for “Best Female Lead.”

Her other film credits include: Hail, Caesar!, The Jungle Book, Sing, Chef, The Avengers, Don Jon, Hitchcock, We Bought A Zoo, Iron Man 2, In Good Company, A Love Song for Bobby Long, Match Point, He’s Just Not That Into You, Vicky Cristina Barcelona, The Other Boleyn Girl, The Spirit, Girl with a Pearl Earring, The Island, The Black Dahlia, The Prestige, The Nanny Diaries, North, Just Cause, and The Man Who Wasn’t There.

A New York native, Johansson made her professional acting debut at the age of eight in the off-Broadway production of “Sophistry,” with Ethan Hawke, at New York’s Playwright’s Horizons.

Prior Honorees

Spike Lee 2020

Charlize Theron 2019

Bradley Cooper 2018

Amy Adams 2017

Ridley Scott 2016

Reese Witherspoon 2015

Matthew McConaughey 2014

Jerry Bruckheimer 2013

Ben Stiller 2012

Robert Downey Jr. 2011

Matt Damon 2010

Samuel L. Jackson 2008

Julia Roberts 2007

George Clooney 2006

Al Pacino 2005

Steve Martin 2004

Nicole Kidman 2003

Denzel Washington 2002

Nicolas Cage 2001

Bruce Willis 2000

Jodie Foster 1999

Arnold Schwarzenegger 1998

John Travolta 1997

Tom Cruise 1996

Mel Gibson 1995

Rob Reiner 1994

Michael Douglas 1993

Sean Connery 1992

Martin Scorsese 1991

Ron Howard 1990

Steven Spielberg 1989

Robin Williams 1988

Bette Midler 1987

Eddie Murphy 1986

American Cinematheque 2021 Co-Chairs

Alan Alda

Drew Barrymore

Noah Baumbach

Alan Bergman


George Clooney

Bradley Cooper

Michael De Luca

Laura Dern

Robert Downey Jr.

Toby Emmerich

Chris Evans

Jon Favreau

Kevin Feige

Jim Gianopulos

Danai Gurira

Alan Horn

Samuel L. Jackson

Sue Kroll

Donna Langley

Brie Larson

Bryan Lourd

Joe Machota

Lorne Michaels

Éric Nebot

Rick Nicita

Ashley Nissenberg

Billy Porter

Florence Pugh

Jeremy Renner

Tom Rothman

Mark Ruffalo

Anthony Russo

Joe Russo

Ted Sarandos

Ann Sarnoff

Paula Wagner

Emma Watts

Regina and Gregory Annenberg Weingarten

Kevin Yorn

Sid Grauman Award Honorees

The Sid Grauman Award was presented from 2015 to 2019 to honor individuals who have made a significant contribution to the Hollywood film industry in the continuing advancement of theatrical exhibition. Although the Award was retired following the 2019 event, the AC continues to celebrate their many professional contributions.

Adam Aron on behalf of AMC Theatres 2019
Doug Darrow on behalf of Dolby Laboratories 2018
Richard Gelfond and Greg Foster on behalf of IMAX 2017
Sue Kroll 2016
Jeffrey Katzenberg 2015


Platinum Sponsors

Amazon Studios

Hill Valley

Morgan Creek Productions



Gold Sponsors

Champagne Fleur De Miraval

Comcast NBCUniversal


Dolby Laboratories

The Hollywood Reporter



Paramount Pictures

The Walt Disney Studios


Silver Sponsors

Château Malartic-Lagravière

Creative Artists Agency


Google TV


Neuman + Associates/

Yorn Barnes Levine Krintzman

Rubenstein Kohner Endlich & Gellman



Gregory Annenberg Weingarten/

GRoW @ Annenberg


Silver Patrons

Sony Pictures Entertainment


Atlas Entertainment

Grace Ford Salvatori Foundation &

Wanda Cannon

Kempinsky Law Ltd.

National Association of Theatre Owners

Rick Nicita


Summer & Michael Mann

Heather & James Rosenfield &

Jackie & John Bucksbaum

Thomas Spiegel Family Foundation

Paula Wagner



As a cultural arts organization dedicated to the presentation of film the American Cinematheque (AC) believes that cinema is a communal experience with the power to entertain, enlighten, and inspire.  In 2021, to celebrate our mission, the Board of Directors established the “Power of Cinema Award” to be given to an individual or organization whose actions through storytelling have advanced the significance of social relevance of films in today’s modern culture.

The AC is dedicated to providing audiences throughout Los Angeles and the world through our virtual platform with a diverse range of programming driven by our mission.  The AC Power of Cinema Award will bring additional focus to our work and serve to acknowledge the contributions of those who share our commitment to the power of cinema.

The American Cinematheque honors Participant with the Power of Cinema Award, Presented by Hill Valley. Participant CEO David Linde will be accepting the Power of Cinema Award on behalf of the company. Participant, founded by Jeff Skoll, has become the leading media company dedicated to entertainment that inspires audiences to engage in positive social change.